A Week In Chicago, IL, On A $115,000 Salary

Occupation: Content Marketing Manager
Industry: Healthcare
Age: 31
Location: Chicago, IL
Salary: $115,000
Net Worth: ~$62,000 (savings: $15,000, checking: $300, 401(k): $29,000, Roth IRA: $12,000, brokerage: $2,600, HSA: $700, Coinbase (Bitcoin & Ethereum, lol): $45, car value: ~$3,800 minus debt.)
Debt: $611 (the amount I owe on a new iPhone. It’s on a no-interest Apple Card.)
Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $2,700
Pronouns: She/her

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $1,000 (my half of rent, split equally with my partner, H. This is for a two-bedroom, one-bath apartment in a small building, plus a private two-car garage)
Apple Card: $40 (to pay off my iPhone)
Utilities: ~$60 for gas and electric (my work gives a $50 stipend for internet each month that covers our full bill)
Health/Vision/Dental Insurance: $0 (work covers my portion of the plan)
Pet Insurance: $20
401(k): $1,726, plus $288 in employer match
Savings: $1,000
Roth IRA: $500
HSA: $300
Streaming Services: $8 (H. and I split HBO Max, and I use the accounts of various friends/family for the rest)
Climbing Gym: $85
Donations: $150 (recurring donations to Planned Parenthood, NAACP, a local abortion fund, and a podcast Patreon)
Nuuly: $95, but I’ll pause it some months
New York Times: $18
Storage Unit: $52 for my half, split with H.
Apple/Google Storage: $4

Annual Expenses
Phone: $224 (I use Mint Mobile, so I pay this in bulk once a year for 10 GB of data per month.)
New York Times Cooking: $40
Credit Card Annual Fees: $95 for Chase, $125 for Amex (total fee is $250 but this one is split with H.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.